Being Taught to Teach


Setting the Tone Poem
August 3, 2012, 5:12 am
Filed under: Reflecting, Student Teaching

This is a poem that came out of one of the dilemmas I faced with my 4th and 5th grade class.  We had been reflecting on how to set the tone for our classrooms.  One of the strategies that emerged was creating written agreements between students who were at conflict with one another.

She is my Enemy

She is my enemy and always will be

She was exactly like this last year you see

She is bossy, mean and selfish too,

I could yell at her til I turn blue.

I’m not selfish, bossy or mean

He lies so much it makes me green

When I talk he laughs or walks away

It makes me do the same when he wants a say

Now kids, I understand you’re mad

Let’s talk about three things the other does that make you feel bad

When I speak she rolls her eyes,

He does too, don’t trust his lies

Well that sounds like a good one to add to the compromise

Anything else to add before we sign?

Sometimes he walks away as I’m in mid speaking line

Oh, yeah but if you do it to me that’s fine?

These are written down as things to work on

I do not need a friendship to spawn,

A promise of tolerance to one another

So our classroom can move into recover

No more rolling eyes or walking away,

Thank you for talking this out today,

Now go out and play

Is this how we should deal with children who will not get along in our class?  Is there a better way to set the tone of friendship and community in the class?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

